Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Machine refuses to see second monitor
Ed   2013-08-07 08:50
I've heard so much about UltraMon that I decided to link an old 19" with my new monitor on
an xp system, but I don't appear to be able to.

The new monitor is not recognised by UltraMon.

It is a generic video card (I'm not that concerned about great graphics as I use the
computer for writing) and has the adapters. I have tried all the usual strategies of
changing leads (the old and new monitor work on the VGA, but not on the HVI) so I tried
another video card (with upto date drivers), which I know to be good and the same thing
happened (VGA okay on both monitors, but both monitors bad on HVI). I am no expert but I
think I have learned my way around computers over ten years or so of using them and have
fixed most things, but I am stumped here.

I read that the multi monitor system would not work with on-board graphics and it would
need to be disabled if that was the case. I am sure I don't have that as I reasoned there
would be a VGA socket to the motherboard - or am I wrong there, could the problem be
somewhere in this area?

With your vast experience I am sure you have come across every instance that would prevent
UltrMon from working, I hope you have come across this and can help me.

Cheers,

Ed.

Ed
Christian Studer   2013-08-07 12:19
Does the monitor have a DVI port as well so that you can connect it directly to the video card's DVI port, or are you using a DVI-to-VGA adapter?

Christian Studer - www.realtimesoft.com
Ed   2013-08-07 13:10
It has both

Ed
Christian Studer   2013-08-07 13:34
If the monitor still doesn't work if it is connected via DVI port to the video card's DVI port, go to Display Properties or UltraMon menu > Display Settings and make sure it is enabled.