Forums -> Multiple monitors -> 2D 2monitors Win2k,
alan martin   2002-04-21 20:21
Hello all

Appologies for asking yet another "which card" question. I've tried researching all the usual reviews and forums and got confused by so many possibilities.

Summary:
I'm an old graphic designer on a low budget.
Which works best... one dual-head card or two cards (one AGP and one PCI)?
Used only for 2D graphic design, using 2 CRT monitors (both 1024x768 32bit color)
If the answer is one card with dual outlets, then which one?

---------------------------------------

Details:
I work on 2D graphic design for printed output.
Mostly use Photoshop, CorelDraw, Illustrator, Quark.
I never play games. No html/web design, just print.

I bought a new 17inch CRT because the old MAG 17inch CRT has varying colour and some distortions. It is still good for non graphic work though, with crisp text.
I want to run both monitors always at 1024x768 in 32bit color, same refresh rates.
Sometimes I'd like to maximise one app on monitor A and another app on monitor B.
Othertimes I'd like to run one app on both monitors (the image on the new monitor
and the tool palettes on the old one).

Most important: Good 2D image quality; also convenient software for using the two screens efficiently in various ways. If the card maker's software is not good enough, I would use UltraMon, but the card's Win2K drivers would still have to be good.

I use Windows 2000 Pro; reluctant to move to XP unless it becomes necessary for good practical reasons.

Pentium II 300Mz with 384Mb of RAM
Gigabyte motherboard, Intel LX440 chipset
Matrox Millenium II PCI, one spare AGPx2 slot

So, should I retire the Matrox PCI card and get a dual head
or should I get a single-head AGP card and run two cards?

---------------------------------------

If I go for just one card with two VGA outlets:

Tom's Hardware site advises that the Radeon 7000/VE has better window
management software for my purpose and can run 2 CRT monitors.