Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Newbie: Geforce 2 MX 400 howto?
Peter Lund   2003-02-05 09:26
Hi, this is a newbie question heh, I got a Geforce 2 MX 400 graphic card & 2 monitors, but when i look on the graphic card it have a normal monitor output + a yellow one + a video one.
The question is: what cable do i need to plug the second monitor into the graphic card??? I'm a true newbie so a technical name for the cable would be cool so i could send that name to a shop.

I'm running Windows XP and am assuming i can use the twinview features to make my desktop become twice as big when i get it to work.

Regards
Peter Lund
mu-sash-i   2003-02-05 12:30
The yellow one is a component out for a TV (or reciever)and the other one (the black circle) is an S-Video out for your TV.

If you want to plug in another monitor you need to acquire another graphics card.
Tom Rentfrow   2003-02-09 14:07
Peter,

I wish I could help, but unfortunately I have the same problem. I just bought a system with a Nvidia Geforce 4 MX 420 card. Everything I have read indicated that this is a dual monitor card, but it too has only 1 VGA output terminal. I guess I need a second card as well. Any help from others would be appreciated.

Tom Rentfrow
Xirkan   2003-02-11 01:13
The second (yellow, as you say :-) output may be DVI connector - used for connecting digital LCD panels. It may be possible to connect analog VGA monitor to it using a convertor (DVI-->VGA), but only if it is DVI-I type (supports analog and digital output) connector and not an DVI-D type (supports only digital output). It's impossible to say without seeing it though.
Geoffrey   2003-02-11 01:40
As far as I kown, the Geforce 2 MX 400 with the twin view option was only produced in two version. One version with a 15-pin Sub-D plug (VGA) and a DVI-plug (3x8 pin array with a cross on one side), the other with VGA and Video connectors.