Forums -> UltraMon™ -> Windows 10 Secondary Taskbar & Cortana
Francis   2018-06-15 02:46
I have been using UM since 2009. I have Windows 10 with secondary taskbars and only icons showing for the open windows on each screen. With no windows open on a secondary monitor it shows no icons just the time. When I open the first window it shows the icon for that window. If the window is minimized and I want to maximise I go to click on the icon but it changes to the Cortana button and launches Cortana instead. Subsequent windows are not affected in teh same way. Is there a way to disable Cortana showing on secondary taskbars?

If I set Cortana to hidden on the Primary taskbar the problem goes away but I would prefer to have Cortana showing as a button on the main taskbar.

Any help appreciated.

Francis
Christian Studer   2018-06-17 11:01
This will be fixed in the next release. As far as I know Cortana/Search can't be disabled just for secondary taskbars.

Christian Studer - www.realtimesoft.com
christopher_stark   2018-06-19 09:37
I'm having this same issue. Any idea when the "next release" is coming? We talking months, weeks, days? I've always loved this app!

SysAdmin for Non-profit
Christian Studer   2018-06-20 01:57
I don't know yet, but it's more months than days.

Christian Studer - www.realtimesoft.com
Jason Dale   2019-06-01 23:06
1. Load up regedit
2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows
3. Here, look for a folder called 'Windows Search' - if you don't see this folder - create it.
4. Next, inside the windows search folder, right click and choose the option to create a new 32-bit DWord value.
5. Right click the new value and rename it to AllowCortana
6. Double Click the value and set the value data to 0

Let me share a guide to completely disable cortana in windows system.

Jason Dale
Craig   2019-08-13 05:18