Forums -> UltraMon™ -> Flashing Screen, Slight Delay
Louise   2023-06-21 10:57
Hi,

About a week to two weeks ago, I started having an issue with UltraMon.

What has been happening:
*My main screen flashes briefly to black.
*A few flickers follow.
*There is a delay in what I may be doing, such as typing. I have to wait about five seconds for what I've typed to appear after each "incident" starts.
*Each incident happens every 30 seconds to a couple minutes after the previous one.

I had a Windows update about the time this started happening, although I can't swear these incidents started after the update.

I have been using UltraMon for well over five years without any issues.

I have three monitors, which I've had for over five years.

I have the most current version of UltraMon installed. As a matter of fact, I uninstalled UltraMon late last week and only installed it again today. I hoped the "break" might resolve the issues

Is anyone else having this issue? Does anyone know what's causing this? Does anyone know how to fix it?

Louise
Christian Studer   2023-06-22 10:57
Does the issue go away as soon as you close UltraMon via UltraMon menu > Close?

Also let me know which version of Windows you're using.

Christian Studer - www.realtimesoft.com
Louise   2023-06-22 11:56
I hadn't tried just closing UltraMon as you suggested, but I had uninstalled it. Uninstalling makes the issue go away. I don't like being without UltraMon (so much easier to use than the Windows shortcuts when you have more than two monitors), so I installed it again.

I closed UltraMon as you suggested. Yes, it stopped the problem.

I'm using Windows 10 Enterprise, version 22H2, OS build 19045.3086, 64 bit OS.

Louise
Christian Studer   2023-06-23 02:37
Does this happen even if you don't do anything, for example you restart the computer, then do nothing, don't open any applications, then every minute or so the primary monitor turns black?