Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Lower contrast on new ViewSonic line :(
Ed   2003-06-17 11:28
Hi, I'm a bit disappointed with the new ViewSonic line. It has a thin edge and all, but the contrast of the 20" VP201b went down to 1:350 -- the same as its competition. The older VP201mb has a ratio of 1:600. I called ViewSonic and confirmed... they told me it did not make that much of a difference... that I could check out some of their monitors with different contrast rations at BestBuy, etc.

Well, I have been using my VP201mb for almost 2 years now and I'm afraid I'll "know" the difference, whether it is there or not. The slightly larger model, the 21" VP211b, has a contrast ratio of 1:600 but the pixel pitch is much higher, and I think the pic will not be as well "packed". The 20" models both run at 1600x1200 and have a cool 0.255mm pixel pitch for a tack sharp pic.

So apart from the thinner borders and overall smaller size, the new line seems to be a step back.

I was really set on getting the new panels and already got the new video cards, etc... but now I'm left to ponder... :(

So, I guess I don’t really have a question, but if someone has checked out the new VP201b and compared it with the older VP201mb I would be very interested in your thoughts... otherwise this is more of a rant.
ecarlson   2003-06-17 14:22
I think you should check it out. It is possible that you actually might not notice any difference, and since you are used to 1:600, it would be good to hear your results of checking out the new 1:350 monitor.

- Eric www.InvisibleRobot.com
Ed   2003-06-18 13:52