Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Feedback Or Suggestions On New Three Monitor Setup
Drew   2003-07-20 08:03
Hi,

After reading through the forum topics for several hours, I think I have found the ideal setup for my new three monitor setup, but I would appreciate any suggestions or feedback that could help make my decision more successful.

The forum has been very informative, but as I am very new to the multiple-monitor setup "world", a response to the following would be great.

I am looking to buy 3 Planar PX191 19" LCD monitors and mounting them on an Ergotron three monitor support.

While the monitors and mount were relatively easy decisions the video cards, however, were not so straight forward.

I am thinking of purchasing a Gainward FX PowerPack! Ultra/780 XP 256MB Professional GeForce FX 5600 Video Card w/Dual DVI & VIVO for my AGP card, however, I am not sure what PCI video card I should purchase. Obviously, the card needs to have a DVI connection for the third LCD monitor, but I would also like it to be of a newer generation Nvidia chip much the same as the FX5600. Any suggestions?

Also, I am curious whether there are any implications with the Gainward AGP card as it has VIVO and I had read on the forum that some users had some issues with that. Of equal interest is any implications that the use of my SB Audigy 2 Platinum will have on the setup as I have read that there are some sound quality issues with some video cards on the PCI bus.

Thanks a lot for your help; it is greatly appreciated!

System Specs:

MSI 875P Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 3.2 GHz CPU
1GB Corsair PC3700 Memory
Maxtor 480GB RAID 0+1 Hard Drive Array
SB Audigy 2 Platinum Sound Card
Drew   2003-07-20 08:40
I'm sorry, I forgot to mention that I am running Windows XP Pro.

Thanks!

System Specs:

MSI 875P Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 3.2 GHz CPU
1GB Corsair PC3700 Memory
Maxtor 480GB RAID 0+1 Hard Drive Array
SB Audigy 2 Platinum Sound Card
Drew   2003-07-20 11:16