Forums -> Multiple monitors -> AGP - PCI - SOS !
Connie   2003-12-04 12:47
Need help setting up dual monitors on my Win98SE system. Have been reading this realtime.soft forum as well as Google Groups Win98 Multi-Monitor forum, but I'm still a confused newbie. I'm experiencing software conflicts and program crashes, as well as not being able to get both monitors enabled. I THINK my problems may stem from using both AGP and PCI cards, but would appreciate any advice from this knowledgeable group. My usage consists of mostly working with graphics and website development.

My setup before trying to install second monitor:

Windows 98SE
Gateway 750 Select
750 mHz, AMD Athlon
30 GB hard drive
384 MB RAM
Jabil Motherboard with AMD 750 chipset
AGP 32 MB nVidia Riva TNT2 M64 video card
17" flat-screen CRT

I've added a second video card, a PCI 32MB nVidia geforce2 MX400, and a second 17" flat-screen CRT. Here are my "issues":

1. Most of my reading about multi-monitors indicates that the AGP card should be designated as primary and the PCI card as secondary. My system BIOS (AMI) does not have that option, and Gateway doesn't offer a more current BIOS that does. I seem to recall somewhere in a forum that the AGP does NOT have to be primary and that people have been able to use multi-monitors with PCI as primary and AGP as secondary. What's the skinny? Why do the "experts" say AGP has to be primary? Is it truly necessary for some reason? Would I be better off buying a second inexpensive PCI card and removing the AGP?