Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Multi-Mon setup for two laptops?
Frank Longino   2001-03-22 12:34
I'm a Multimedia Artist/Graphics Designer interested in setting up a truly mobile dual monitor laptop-based PC system that supports desktop sharing (not just mirrored setups). I am familiar with the actual physical connection details for this (WIN98 or above, dual-monitor supporting video cards, secondary cards installed in docking stations, etc.).

My specific question deals with finding a portable/low cost alternative for the secondary monitor itself. I really wouldn't be into lugging around even a 14" CRT and a Flat Panel is little expensive right now. Besides, these options run on regular AC power which obviously cuts down some of the mobility.

Is it possible to set up a Multi-Mon configuration using a second laptop's monitor? The second laptop could be an smaller/older/less powerful (i.e., cheaper) system. Also, is there any way of using the second laptop's panel display independent of the laptop CPU (like desktop systems)?

Any enlightenment offered in this area would be greately appreciated.

Frank Longino
Christian Studer   2001-03-25 00:15
I don't think this is possible, you would need a VGA-in port on the laptop, but I've never heard of something like this...

If you do find a good solution, please post it here, I'm looking for the exact same thing myself.

Christian Studer
www.realtimesoft.com
Dually   2001-03-25 15:11
Hmmm ... might be possible to "gut" an older laptop (so that powering it on only powers the display), and rewire the external vga connector as an input in lieu of an output. Will have to give this some thought.
Christian Studer   2001-04-07 02:23
Found an interesting LCD flat panel monitor from SONY, the SDM-N50PS: weight only 5.2 pounds (this includes the display and the power unit), detachable stand, only 1" thick. DVI unfortunately isn't supported. Complete specs are available in PDF format: SDM-N50/N50PS.pdf.