Forums -> Multiple monitors -> 6600gt daul display?
shawn   2005-02-13 09:50
I am brand new to this, and did not see the answers to my question before posting so here goes.

I have the nvidia gigabyte 6600gt card with the most recent drivers 66.93 I believe, and I want to do a dual monitor setup.

I work mostly with video editing programs like premiere, and need the extra desktop space.

In the nvidia drivers I get the option to clone, span horizontal, span vertical, and single monitor option. None are what I am looking for.
I have tried them all, they all work, but not like what I need.

Here is what I want to do.
monitor one is my main desktop
monitor two is my 2nd desktop where I can drag either boxes or other apps to.

Is that possible with this program?
If so... how easy is it to remove this program if I need to?
Due to driver issues with mce etc it literally took me 2 weeks on phone with ms and the shop to get this machine working, and I don't wanna break it again.

running xp media center 2005
pIV 2.8 hyper
2g ocz 400 ram
2x raptor 10k 74g drives
nvidia 6600gt
shawn   2005-02-13 11:24
Well I did figure out how to get both monitors working properly, though this program does not seem to work with my 6600gt card.

When I open the program, it only see's one monitor, 2048x768, which is the "span horizontal" from the nvidia software.
If I turn that part of the nvidia software off, i.e. only single monitor, then it seems to actually turn the power on the 2nd monitor card output off, so that nothing can see it (dvi-vga adapter one).

Has anyone using the 6600gt figured this part out?
The only thing really driving me nuts is that my background img is spanned now, and my screen savers are all shot, which is why i want to still try and use this software.

thnx
shawn   2005-02-13 12:09
well it seems that the 6600gt when using the regular monitor output and the dvi with adaptor will only see it as one monitor.
Seems to make no difference what settings I choose no luck..