Forums -> UltraMon™ SDK -> Moving open applications to a different monitor
tony   2005-10-17 03:09
Hi there,
I just discovered ultramon and am wondering how to move an open app to a different window using scripting.
I know there is this function through the toolbar button, but with more than two monitors, this requires shuffling across the list of available monitors.
With great programs that can skin buttons directly onto the taskbar (Windowblinds), it is possible to put four new buttons, and just hit the one i want.
Is there a way to do this?
BTW, I'm not a scripting guru, I'm a writer.
Cheers
Christian Studer   2005-10-17 09:20
I have uploaded a script which does this: MoveActiveWnd

The script accepts the monitor number as an argument. For example to move the active window to monitor 1, you would run the script like this:

MoveActiveWnd.vbs 1

If your monitors use different resolutions, the script will by default resize the window proportionally.

To only resize the window if necessary (resize to fit), you'll need to add the /r command line argument:

MoveActiveWnd.vbs 1 /r

Christian Studer - www.realtimesoft.com
tony   2005-10-18 04:12
Thankyou Christian,
It seems that windowblinds can only accept an .exe file for its button applications.
I have been able to get this working using an autoit script compiled to an exe to drive the .vbs.
Unfortunately I don't know enough about how its done to convert the formats between the scripting languages.
So thankyou for your rapid reply.
If I might ask a further question, how would I get the vbs script to check to see whether the window is actually currently on the monitor that I am trying to send it to.
I mean, if I put four buttons in my titlebar, and the one for the monitor the app is on gets clicked, can I filter that out? Its only a little thing, so not worth extended effort.
Cheers,
Tony
PS: I'm using Objectdock. I wish it had a feature like your smart taskbar. That's a cool idea.
Christian Studer   2005-10-18 09:42