Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Setting up a 4 monitors PC
Maxime   2006-03-04 06:12
Hi!

First of all, I have to say that I have no experience in multi-monitor setups. However, I searched the forum and didn't really get an answer to my question...

We are currently trying to set up a workstation to have a 4 monitors output (2 monitors tall X 2 monitors wide), and we are looking for the right video card(s) to buy. The 4 monitors will need to function as one big monitor, since the window of a program will span over all 4 monitors. Is it possible to do this with 2 dual output video cards, or do we need a quad-output one?

Thanks in advance!

Maxime
ECarlson   2006-03-04 13:19
Any (compatible) combination of cards, or a single quad card, will let you put 4 monitors in a block in Windows Extended Desktop mode, and if you are using a normal app, like Firefox, IE, Word, Excel, Etc., you can resize the app's window to fill all 4 screens, but it you want to run it "Full screen", normally that will go full screen to only 1 of the monitors. I don't know if UltraMon will help make it go full screen to all 4 monitors.

If you expect to run a 3D or video app across all 4 monitors, you'll probaly have issues that may or may not be resolveable.

Depending on the need, I think there are also hardware devices that can take one video signal and split it up into quadrants to cover 4 monitors.

- Eric, www.InvisibleRobot.com
Maxime   2006-03-11 02:28
Thanks for your answer, and sorry for the delay.

The application I have to run over the 4 monitors is a LabView (www.ni.com/labview) interface. Since it is a much more complex application than Word or Excel, I'd like someone to confirm that it will be possible to stretch the window over the 4 monitors (doesn't matter if the fullscreen button cannot be used) using 2 dual-output cards. Since we are building our new system exclusively for this application, it is really important for me to know that it will work...