Forums -> Multiple monitors -> 3 monitors playing one split video signal
nigel   2007-02-19 22:38
OK, so this is really quite out there and maybe it isn't even possible.

I'm a final year multimedia student and we're hoping to create a video installation that will play video on 3 monitors in front of you. I have minimal experience in developing for multiple monitors, but have used 2 for many years that both come out of one video card slot (2x VGA).

We hope to be able to play one video stream, which we will develop in a standard definition 16x9 across three screens which adds up to a single stream of 2160x480 (720x480 times 3). If we can get a video card and processor to play video of this size and if we can set up a three monitor output then can we be guaranteed that we will get the one video stream to play across the three outputs?

So my main questions are simply,
how easy or hard would it be to modify a standard desktop PC to output to three monitors? And secondly, if this is set up correctly, will full screen "super-wide" video divide itself up across these three outputs and play full screen? Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated as this is all new to us, and we'd love to hear different experiences or potential problems.

All the best,
Nigel
nigel   2007-02-20 23:41
Sorry to bump this up, but just wondering does anyone have any knowledge about whether this is possible? Have people ever watched full screen video even split across two monitors?
0ctane   2007-02-21 11:44
I have been out of the multi-monitor scene for a while, but last I knew, only the Matrox Parahelia could span across three monitors to display video or games. I am not sure if the new Crossfire or SLI can do it.
Million   2007-02-21 17:33
Although I dont fully understand your application's requirement, but I think matrix dvd is your solution, maybe you can test it from www.xj-spark.com.
nigel   2007-02-21 20:03
Thanks very much for the responses, they are much appreciated.