Forums -> Multiple monitors -> Help Building Multi-Screen Visualizer
Nick H   2008-05-06 07:43
I'm a CS student. Like most geeks I have a bunch of old CRT's laying around and access to more.

My idea is to stack them all up and create a giant visualizer that uses all the monitors as one big display.

I want to do this as cheaply as possible as all it will be used for is a visualizer (preferably just itunes as my music is all in there right now). I just have no real starting point.

Any advice/ideas/helpful hints would be appreciated. Think it would be possible to do this for < $500 US?

--------------------------------
Right now I have 6 monitors but I'm trying to get up to 9 for a square visualizer. They range in size from 17" to 20" and all have vga cables.

I have a couple old pentium 4 machines with 1 gb ram each. Only one vga out per machine tho.
---------------------------------

If this ever gets done I'd be more than happy to post pics / do a write-up

Thug Means Never Having To Say You're Sorry - Nancy Botwin
Max   2008-05-06 16:22
If you plan to use all of those hardware and have a unique big display, you might consider using Maxivista. It spans your display over multiple network connected pcs, but I guess you won't have to expect turbo performance or high speed full screen graphics for gaming, that's another matter.
Nick H   2008-05-06 16:55
Wow, thats perfect. Any idea what a good cheap board and vid cards would be? Really it just needs to be able to run itunes.

Thug Means Never Having To Say You're Sorry - Nancy Botwin
Max   2008-05-06 18:32